img(height="1" width="1" style="display:none" src="")

Litmus group announced

Hugh Pearman

Please welcome our new reader feedback group

We’re delighted to announce the launch of the RIBAJ Litmus Group – a panel of readers from all over the UK and overseas who, responding to our invitation, have kindly agreed to crit what we do. It’s a very diverse and thoroughly interesting group.

Every magazine craves feedback from its readers, and we are no exception. Of course we meet lots of you face to face.  We also know from our previous reader research that there is broad support for our ‘head and heart’ approach, in which practical guidance sits alongside accounts of inspirational buildings, people and events.  Social media is also valuable for assessing reactions to what we publish.  But we have long felt the need for a regular conversation with a group of engaged readers so as to test the relevance and interest of what we do, in print and online.  Hence the Litmus Group.  

Members range from solo practitioners to directors of large practices. They are from all round the country and abroad – including the USA, France, Australia and Canada.

There are urban and market town and rural practitioners, recently (or not yet) qualified, older – including retired – architects, practice chairs and directors; from emerging  and established  firms engaged in all manner of work. There are architects on the client side and one who is a local authority chief executive. We have representatives from academia, from traditionalist and conservation practices as well as the multi-discipline, the modernist and the experimental. 

We’ll converse online via surveys and emails. The group will be refreshed at intervals to bring in new voices and can expand if necessary to a workable maximum of around 50 members – so do let me  know if you would like to join at  For the launch, we aimed for 40 and have 41. Our thanks to them – we’re looking forward to this. So here they all are: 

Phil Allsopp Arizona State University, USA

Kelly Bednarczyk Hall + Bednarczyk, Chepstow

Robert Blundell Saltaire, West Yorkshire

Barbara Bochnak ITOLab, London

Tim Browne Blainey North and Associates, Sydney, Australia

Mick Brundle Arup Associates, London

Sarah Castle IF_DO, London

Richard Crowson Watson Batty Architects, Loughborough

Kate Darby Kate Darby Architects, Leominster

Hannah Durham Cullinan Studio, London

Sue Emms BDP Manchester

Nils Feldmann Feldmann Architects, Leicester

Roger FitzGerald ADP Architecture, London

Emma Flanagan PH+ Architects, London

Chris Hartiss Squire and Partners, London

Stuart Hatcher Rogate, West  Sussex

Wayne Head Curl La Tourelle Head Architecture, London

Duncan Higgins Diamond Schmitt Architects, Toronto, Canada

Paul Iddon Agency Spring, Manchester 

Peter Jacob Chalford, Gloucestershire

Dipa Joshi  Assael Architecture, London

Soraya Khan Theis+Khan, Tunbridge Wells

Laura Kinnaird Reiach & Hall, Edinburgh

Hana Loftus HAT Projects, Colchester

Tania Love FaulknerBrowns, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Paul McGrath Ceetoo Architecture, Swansea

Neil MacWilliams Rick Mather Architects, London

Justin Nicholls Fathom Architects, London

Catherine Pease vPPR Architects, London

Wendy Perring PAD Studio, Lymington Hants

Carolyn Ouwehand Glenn Howells Architects, London/Birmingham

Louise Priestman Purcell, Canterbury

Rahim Rahemtulla Boon Brown, London/Yeovil

Austen Redman Francis Johnson and Partners, Bridlington

Karen Rogers Canary Wharf Contractors, London

Hazel Rounding  Shedkm, Liverpool/London

Nita Sharma MZ Architecture, Antibes, France 

Sumita Singha Ecologic Architects, London

Dhruv Sookhoo Newcastle University school of architecture

Magali Thomson Marks Barfield Architects, London

Ian Vincent Chief executive, Daventry District Council